Hot Pie's Kitchen

Exploring Westeros one bite at a time

a look back on the week

Well GoT food week in NYC is over and despite it being quite chilly for those who waited for the food the reactions were very positive. I tried to make it into the city on friday to join the WiC crowd, but unfortunately due to work and prior commitments I wasn’t able to make it. There are plenty of reviews and pictures around the web and you can find some links and the bottom of the post. I also have all 5 of Tom Colicchio’s videos for each menu up in the gallery if you want to take a peak. The LA leg of the tour is going to be starting up tomorrow and I plan on making another one of the items from their menus this coming week. I’ll have a full how-to post up hopefully by thursday night (I think it may be flatbread with lamb and chickpeas). I’m also going to be updating the general food and drink info on the site in the coming weeks now that the food blitz is calming down a bit.  One last thing I’d like to say is thank you all for the comments and kind words, this site is for all of you so if there is anything that I can do to improve upon it let me know. And let me know what dishes you’d like to see made as well.

Links and Pics from NYC food trucks after the break.

ology: day 3 ology: day 4 ology: day 5BrandCookie.comNYC Menu GirlEast VillageLes MusettesPop Watch

4 responses to “a look back on the week

  1. duckchick April 3, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    It’s awesome that you’re doing this, and I can’t wait to see your new recipe! Thanks for the links and pictures, as well. Sorry you couldn’t make it to NYC, but neither could I. So I’m feeling ya there!

    By the way…is there any way to make a lamb recipe with, er, grown up sheep? I know I’m being silly, but I have always avoided lamb because…well, they’re cute! I know it’s hypocritical of me since I eat eggs and such, but I’m really curious because I don’t think I’ve ever seen mutton for sale in a grocery store, only lamb. How about you?

    • HPK April 3, 2011 at 9:02 pm

      Yeah you are not going to run into sheep mutton in the grocery store and I doubt any butcher around you carries it either. It’s a bit gamie and can have a strong smell so it isn’t too popular any more. 2yo mutton is comparable to lamb but you’d probably have to have it shipped. Adult goat mutton is somewhat similar and is easier to find most Halal meat markets/butchers sell it. Or on the easy side to find, pork and venison could be used. I’d have no problem doing pork or venison with it instead, I don’t have enough time to hunt down mutton for next week though.

      • duckchick April 3, 2011 at 11:36 pm

        Thanks for the info! Oh, I didn’t mean to imply I wanted YOU to make the recipe that way, I was just curious and wondered if perhaps I was crazy for not seeing it, and wanted your opinion. Please make everything as you see fit, these are your recipes and I’m eager to try them all! :D

Leave a Reply

